Posted by: powellpjc | May 19, 2013

From Rio to Uruguay

They wouldn’t let me stay at the marina in Rio for more than 4 days so I headed south to Isla Grande, Brazil, to catch my breath and check out a few items below waterline. Like this.

Getting ready to snorkeleer on my hull.

Getting ready to snorkeleer on my hull.


Isla Grande, Brazil.

Isla Grande, Brazil.


I found this plastic bag sucked into my engine cooling intake. Whew!

I found this plastic bag sucked into my engine cooling intake. Whew!


Just a quiet day.

Just a quiet day.


Good chow in Brazil.

Good chow in Brazil.


And yes, I ate the head.

And yes, I ate the head.


Piriopolis, Uruguay.

Piriopolis, Uruguay.


Able Seaman, Pete Ritchie, and el capitan.

Able Seaman, Pete Ritchie, and el capitan.


He was all smiles after he won Able Seaman of the Day award.

He was all smiles after he won Able Seaman of the Day award.


Quiet anchorage.

Quiet anchorage.


Then a lovely sail down to Uruguay until the last 100 miles when I ran into a tormenta that lasted 4 days. Finally made it into la Paloma where I had a nervous breakdown and heart attack, in that order.
After a few days of cooling heels I made it around the corner to Punta del Este where I picked up my cousin, Pete Ritchie, experienced sailor from Loon Lake.
We are making our way up the Uruguayan coast, slowly, as weather permits. It is chilly. 14C at night in the cabin but 19 during the day.
A few more pics of St. Helena that I forgot last time.
The house where Nap Bona was interned. I'd stay there, no problem. St. Helena.

The house where Nap Bona was interned. I’d stay there, no problem. St. Helena.


The main drag in St. Helena. A ditch, populated.

The main drag in St. Helena. A ditch, populated.


The high ground on St. Helena. Nice country.

The high ground on St. Helena. Nice country.


Pete.

Responses

  1. so what junta does the bloke on the right belong to ?


Leave a Reply

Categories

