Posted by: powellpjc | January 11, 2013

Repairing Repairs.

When I arrived at Richards Bay I knew I wanted to haul out to repair some paint damage. Didn’t realize it was so bad. So redid all that the boys did in the Philippines. If you don’t know your paints you are in for grief in the sailing game.
Hauled out using a dolly and winch. Bit nerve-wracking but it always is.

This is not my boat but shows how the dolly haulout works. Lots of creaking and anxiety.

This is not my boat but shows how the dolly haulout works. Lots of creaking and anxiety.


Coupla new zincs and a righteously buffed prop.

Coupla new zincs and a righteously buffed prop.


Redid the zincs, ground all paint and epoxy filler off (that what was causing the blistering paint) and redid the job.
Typical blister, not in the paint but the undercoat of fairing epoxy.

Typical blister, not in the paint but the undercoat of fairing epoxy.


When you pop the blister you get a yellow/green stinky ooze.

When you pop the blister you get a yellow/green stinky ooze.


I helped, but mostly looked on. Too hot for white man.
My two main boys, Wonder and Happy.
Wonder (L) and Happy. Somehow I think they have different Zulu names. Good workers.

Wonder (L) and Happy. Somehow I think they have different Zulu names. Good workers.


I played Ladysmith Black Mambazo music and they had a great time and did a faster job.
Found a small indent in the hull—galvanic corrosion, no doubt. When I cleaned it up I had a nice hole. We welded a plate over top and problem gone. Until the next hole appears.
No hole is good in a floating boat. Galvanic corrosion/electrolysis--no one knows electricity.

No hole is good in a floating boat. Galvanic corrosion/electrolysis–no one knows electricity.


Ready for welding and peace of mind.

Ready for welding and peace of mind.

la Rosa looking mighty fine again. Until next time.

la Rosa looking mighty fine again. Until next time.


Job was done in 4 days but had to wait 3 more for high water to relaunch.
Weather looks good for slipping this place on Sunday. Next stop Kynsna. Try pronouncing that. It’s halfway round the Great Cape.
Planned route unless the winds chase me into a harbour along the way. Good paragliding at Kynsna

Planned route unless the winds chase me into a harbour along the way. Good paragliding at Kynsna

Responses

  1. Pedro
    Great stories! Loved them all. I can only sit here and live vicariously thru your adventure(s). Too bad you never got a shot at one of them bush pigs. Nasty fuckers! Good bacon I’ll bet!
    Off to Austria in 11 days. Knee is giving me grief, but what the hell, it’s a farewell tour, and the show must go on.
    Hope you get some good air in Knysna and have some fun flights. (Yes, I have been trying all morning to pronounce that name!) Neesnah?
    Good sailing and hopefully a little rimsty-da-bimsty when you arrive. Something for the libido is always good, but how would I know?
    Toulouse


Leave a Reply

Categories

