Posted by: powellpjc | August 1, 2009

Lord, Thy night is so dark and Thy lightning is so fucking bright.

Had some of the best sailing of my life on the haul down from Cabo San Lucas to Acapulco.
 

 

 

Repairs in Cabo. Always something.

Repairs in Cabo. Always something.

 

 

 

Sunny days, hot, fair winds, birds and fish.
 

 

A brown booby catches a ride and shits everywhere.

A brown booby catches a ride and shits everywhere.

An hour out of Cabo I had both my fishing lines set. One is a handline, a 300lb test tied to an aft cleat. It has a rubber snubber attached to it so big fishes won’t break the line. It has a plastic wobbling thingy hooked in just ahead of the lure and the whole set up is deadly for tuna and mackerel. My other rig is a Penn reel and rod set in a rod holder on the stainless handrail. I use smaller lures in the hopes of nailing more mahi-mahi.

The wind was up and we were doing 7+ knots downwind when I hooked into something big on the rod. Zinging away she went. I tried to ‘set the hook’ as they say but there was a hell of a lot of pull on the line and the line was still zinging out. The I saw the marlin break the surface, leaping clean out of the water and tail-walking. Wow.

For the next three hours I struggled with this fish. I was sailing too fast to reel him in properly so I tried to drown him. By rounding up into the 20 knot wind I was able to get him to the boat three times but even after three hours he had a lot of life left in him. I had no gaff hook and could not lift him into the boat. Besides, it was too dangerous to have him thrashing around the rudder and propeller and when he broke my rod I cut him loose. The pics do not do him justice. He was either a blue or a striper and I’ve never seen either before so what do I know? Magnificent.

The pic does not do him justice but he was not cooperating.

The pic does not do him justice but he was not cooperating.

After Mr. Marlin got through with my 'deep sea' fishing rod.

After Mr. Marlin got through with my 'deep sea' fishing rod.

 

The days got hotter. A lot of turtles in the water but they won’t let me come close.

Gettin' too hot for Pete Powell.

Gettin' too hot for Pete Powell.

A hell of a lot of ships coming from the Panama Canal headed to Los Angeles and Japan. I left my AIS on all night in the hopes they would not run me down and they didn’t.

I caught a number of mackerel. The first one I filleted and fried up. He tasted like shit so the rest of them I let go. Nailed a nice yellowfin tuna for dinner and he was great.

Mackerel. Good for not much but bait for bigger things.

Mackerel. Good for not much but bait for bigger things.

A nice yellowfin tuna, before.

A nice yellowfin tuna, before.

Mr. Tuna, after the hand-waving.

Mr. Tuna, after the hand-waving.

I was close to land (within 50 miles) most of the way down the Mexican coast and the lightning storms over the mainland at night were spectacular.

More boobies, also shitting furiously.

More boobies, also shitting furiously.

Then I got nailed two nights in a row. Always at night.

Sleeping in the cockpit about 2:30 in the morning I awoke to slightly cooler breeze. No stars. Wind picking up. Scramble to furl the headsail. I have a triple reef in the main. There is lightning everywhere. I know it’s going to blow really hard at any moment so I put on the foulies and cower in the companionway. Two bad nights like this then I see the Acapulco headlands in the morning.

One amuses one's self as one is able.

One amuses one's self as one is able.

Dolphins on my bow.

Dolphins on my bow.

 

I’m parked in the Club de Yates in the centre of town. After re-victualization I will continue south on Monday. Will be flying home for Chuckie’s wedding from somewhere.

Ok, it's a very bad hat. Keeps me alive, already.

Ok, it's a very bad hat. Keeps me alive, already.

Responses

  1. What’s the red thingo up by the jib ? is it a windscoop? and is that waltzing matilda you’re practicing on the squeesy machine?


Leave a Reply

Categories

