Posted by: powellpjc | June 10, 2009

The Way is Clear

The big hurdles are behind me. The fuel tank, the headsail and the furler. I realized this morning that the way ahead is clear and there is no chance for more bluffing. The devil will get his pound of flesh now in the mixed metaphor sense. There are a number of little jobs to do but none of them are go-no go. I need to rig proper reefing lines on the mainsail. That will be a couple of hours tomorrow. I need to stow a lot of shit—tools, for instance that I won’t be needing for a while. Spare parts, clothes—all of it needs to be organized and out of sight. That will take a day. I need to buy groceries and booze, get my hair cut and take back my rental car. So Monday it is, the 15th. I will leave here midday and motor down the Columbia about halfway to the ocean and park for the night at some little town along the way.

Unfortunately, I must go alone on the first passage. My friends are busy or more scared than me. Company is always better than solitary terror, but there you have it.

I need to check in with the customs and border patrol folks at Astoria, on the coast. As a foreign vessel I must clear out and in at every port in the US and fork over $19 for the pleasure. What bullshit. Luckily I have on my list only San Diego. I should be there by the end of the month.

No pics today. Too tired.

Responses

  1. Well Peter, that sounds great that you are finally off on your adventure!

    I am sure that many women will echo me when I say to make sure the hair cut is not as short as your usual.

    signed from a land adventurer – for now
    Georgia

  2. Bon voyage Cap’n!

  3. Pete, bill and I will be thinking of you, all the best, take care of yourself, look forward to seeing you in the summer. Barb Adams.


Leave a Reply

Categories

