Posted by: powellpjc | June 9, 2009

Fuel Tank vs P. Powell part II

I wrote earlier about having to rip out my fuel tank and replace it with a brand new one. This was not an easy task and cost $1,000 never mind the disruption and inconvenience of your living room torn up and smelling like a diesel farm.

I did it because I didn’t want to discover a fuel leak in some far-off land and that was surely to occur. Brand new tank it was.

Then we have the engine air ingestion problem which screws us badly on the Columbia River. Turns out they are connected.

I spent another $800 bucks trying to locate the source of the air leak. New Racor filter, new fittings, new hose, lots of engine run time and fuel cost, labor rate for Fred Bates, my engine man. We were left scratching heads and arm waving. The source of the air lead had to be my NEW FUCKING FUEL TANK. How depressing was that prospect. To have to pull the new tank out and either fix it or get a new, new fuel tank was almost too much to contemplate.

I examined the inside of the tank with my camera and discovered they had used the right size draw tube but they had used a threaded fitting and no pipe thread. You can see it clearly in the photos.

This is the tube inside the fuel tank from where I draw fuel. Threaded. No goop.

This is the tube inside the fuel tank from where I draw fuel. Threaded. No goop.

 

Pretty red diesel fuel.

Pretty red diesel fuel.

I was able to wrench the tube off, apply a shitload of ‘Gasiola’ pipe thread and put it all back together.

After a few gobs of Gasiola.

After a few gobs of Gasiola.

I connected all the lines and ran the engine.

Here is the operating room and it stinks of fuel.

Here is the operating room and it stinks of fuel.

No air bubbles for the first time.

This is my Racor fuel filter and no air bubbles. Whew.

This is my Racor fuel filter and no air bubbles. Whew.

Success. Really on top of the world.

We took down the headstay today and added 7.5” of extrusion for the roller furler. This took 5 hours of non-stop work. We should have added 6” instead. The furler still doesn’t work properly. Rigger is coming back tomorrow so we can take the whole damn thing down again and cut it. It is a three person job and there are only two of us. He is 80 years old.

If that doesn’t work he will cut a new headstay for me. That will set me back another week. Christ.

Weather is good now and I should be gone but you can see what is keeping me.

Responses

  1. Thank god that bloody black cat wasn’t on board ‘cos sure as whatever it would’ve been named “jesus,mary & joseph” and given the boot!!!!!!!!!!!!!like bigtime.
    TW


Leave a Reply

Categories

