Posted by: powellpjc | January 23, 2009

A Day in the Life of a Flake

031

 

 

Two cups of fresh-brewed coffee on the balcony at 8 a.m. I am 25 floors up and can see to Easter Island. The sun has just risen and the beach below me is empty except for a couple of joggers. Breakfast follows and is unremarkable.

I catch the bus outside the building and after a 30 minute, bumpy ride through town –and I mean the dead centre of town—we arrive at the launch site at Alto Hospicio. There is time to bullshit with the waiting pilots. Conditions are rarely good enough for flying at 10:30 in the morning.

I fly for an hour or two, depending on the day’s goals. One goal is to always land on the beach in front of the apartment and it is usually possible. Let’s say 8 times out of 10. Those occasions when it is not possible are due to over-ambitious flight planning which finds me landing in some ditch followed, by a long desert march. The flight is always a success if I can use my glider again.

It is 24C in the air and 30C on the beach and I am sweating. When I landed today at 1 p.m. I was the only glider around. I began packing up. When I turned around to leave there were 7 young ladies standing quietly in the sand waiting to speak to me. They were wearing the minimum beach attire. They were college girls from Salta, Argentina. I was pretty sure I was hallucinating. They wanted to go for a flight so I pointed them in the direction of the local tandem school. Time for a swim in the 50 x 50 m pool.

Gin and tonic on the balcony. The beach below is filling up.

Lunch, siesta.

I hit a wifi hotzone next door for a few minutes to do this.

The beach is full. As the sun goes down at 8 p.m. the peddlers, artisans, puppeteers, jugglers, take over from the ice cream hawkers. There are a lot of Bolivians here as well as Argentineans. And, of course, Chilean holidaymakers.

Dinner is something from the sea. The choices are endless.

Have I already died?

Responses

  1. okay, you are warm. We are NOT. It is -27 today and I ski, can not today or yesterday. Will watch movies in my pissedoffedness and be glad to be alive so far…love


Leave a Reply

Categories

