Posted by: powellpjc | January 21, 2009

Back on the Oceano Pacifico

010

El Tropico Capricornio Again.

The eleven hour flight is grueling. They serve dinner at two in the morning and I eat it. It passes the time and I cannot sleep on these planes. I coax them into a double ration of wine but it doesn’t help. No matter, I am here in northern Chile once again, in 31 degree sunshine and the smell of fresh fish in the air. Grand.

I spent the afternoon in Toronto killing time before the flight. Went to a movie, ‘Slumdog Millionaire’ which I enjoyed although the guilt soaked through me. A movie about slum life in Mumbai (Bombay, India) is unavoidably voyeuristic. It was similar in some respects to ‘City of God’ and the favelas of Rio de Janiero. Cruel poverty and its constant companion, violence. Good kid acting.

After that I lounged about in my son’s digs where the roles were neatly reversed. I drank his beer, watched his TV laughed at his jokes. Now, if I could only get him to cook a roast of beef I might move right in.

I haven’t flown here in Iquique in January before. The conditions will not be as good and the springtime air but they should be just fine.

Reports to follow as blood alcohol and events permit.

Leave a Reply

Categories

